为什么我们要记录学习的重要体验?

English Version

学习是无所不在的,并不是说要上节课或者看本书才是学习。你在做任何事情的时候都可能是在学习,尤其是在探索自己感兴趣的东西的时候。所以学习并不在于任何外在的形式,而在于内心的状态,对自我的感知,尤其是对于自我成长的感知是学习的核心。只要你保持对自我成长的感知,你就可以非常灵活的调用各种资源在各种活动中进行高效的学习。通过记录自己每天学到了什么,或者说通过记录自己每天学习的重要体验,就是我们保持对自我成长进行感知的方式。大家持续的记录,积累的时间长了,就可以将许多的重要体验整理成系统的知识,这将是属于你自己的知识。这也是你可以和其他同学一起交流的知识,可以互相促进学习的知识。

我们希望大家通过重要体验的记录,真正的学会如何学习,以后面对任何复杂系统的学习都可以游刃有余的去面对。学会学习,是我们教学的最终目标。

大家可以简单的把上述讲的理解为通过记录重要体验来创造学习的心流。“心流”这个词其实不是很准确科学的表达,但因为平常大家用这个词比较多,理解起来方便一点。

那我们就暂时借用“心流”这个词,来进一步讲一讲,通过重要体验的记录,是要获得什么样的心流。我说学习是对感兴趣的事情的探索以期获得更好的理解能更好的从事相关的活动。那么这里有一个关键就是获得更好的理解,并且这个理解应该是对某一事物或某一领域整体的理解。这个整体的理解就来自于你从各种不同的活动中获取的重要体验。比如我们在Paracraft 教育里,就发现这些6到12岁的小学生们都是具备很好的总结能力的,可以从大量动手实践获得的重要体验里总结出3D动画编程模型的主要特点,例如3维坐标系,事件及响应等。而一般学校或者机构的以上课形式为主的教学,既没有给学生大量动手或者玩的机会,让他们去积累大量的重要体验,更没有给学生自己总结这些体验形成自己的知识的机会。不管是学校还是机构的上课,都是学生跟着老师亦步亦趋的学习。你如果总是跟在别人的后面去某个地方,去多少次你都不会认识路的。学习就是自我探索的过程,从探索中获得的重要体验去总结自己的知识。这是每个人与生俱来的学习能力,更是生命本质的属性。所以难怪学生们上课越多越不会学习了。而真正拥有相关学习的重要体验的老师,有相关的从重要体验去总结自己知识的老师,才是在学生的探索过程中可以去指导学生的老师。

我这里先不继续深入的讲这个话题,我们回到心流。借用这个词,学生们应该建立一个从点滴重要体验的积累到整体理解的心流。再把这个心流加长一点,前面加上一点学习计划,即自己在学习哪些领域的知识在试图建立哪些领域的整体理解;后面加上一点把建立起来的整体理解再运用到活动中去,去获得学习的反馈。这样形成一个闭环,并呈螺旋上升的态势。这样不断往复,不断清晰自己在建立哪些知识领域的知识,这些领域又包含了哪些部分,并在知识运用过程中,因为不断的新的活动,能够识别新的活动中的知识以及相关知识,让过去,现在和未来的知识产生连接,不断的产生新的学习兴趣,扩大自己的知识体系。所以前面说的学习计划里的学习领域,没有必要一定是个传统的学科分类,比如数学,英语或者化学。可以是自己定义的一个领域,自己感兴趣的一个领域,比如游泳,或者照相。这些领域是可去整体理解的,或者说是可以去建模的。

如果我们能够对一个领域建模,就可以快速的建立起对这个领域的理解。这个模型一开始可以比较粗略,但足以指导当前的行动,再通过活动中获得的相关重要体验去细化这个模型。所以,这个心流的过程我们是可以进一步的深入,围绕知识建模来描述的。教与学的许多环节,包括学生的群组学习,学生学习档案的建立,导师的导学的实施,导师招聘,师资培训等我们都可以通过知识模型去做,比基于上课的教学有着极大的优势。这样的对知识的认识,是可以数字化和互联网化的,这是互联网教育的基础。(把课堂搬到互联网上绝不是互联网教育。)但进一步的内容比较多,今天我们就先讲到这个程度。

This entry was posted in 未归类. Bookmark the permalink.

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注


− 1 = 零

Why do we need to record our Significant Experiences?

中文版

Learning is everywhere and it happens all the time. You don’t have to take a class or read a book to count it as learning. You can be in  the state of learning while doing anything, especially doing what interests you. So learning is not about a particular type of activity such as taking a class but more of a state of mind,  sensing of yourself, especially of your growth. If you keep focused on your growth, you can learn from various activities, orchestrating them to achieve the maximum learning effect.  By recording our Significant Experiences every day, we can keep focused on our internal growth. If you keep recording your significant experiences for a long while, you might be able to build up systemic knowledge from these experiences , and it will be your personal knowledge. 

We hope students can learn how to learn by recording their daily significant experiences. Learning how to learn is what we teach in Paracraft Education. 

You might understand the above in terms of Flow. Regardless whether Flow is an accurate or really scientific term, it is widely used by people so it may help you understand what I mean by using this word. 

OK, let’s temporarily borrow the term Flow to describe what kind of flow we try to achieve by recording our daily significant experiences. Learning, to me, is to explore what interests you to achieve a better understanding so that you can do things better. So a key here is “better understanding”, and this understanding is an understanding of the whole. Such understanding of the whole is based on your significant experiences gained through various activities. For example, in Paracraft Learning Center, we observed that kids aging 6 to 12 have a very good capacity to build up knowledge models by summarizing significant experiences they gained through a lot of hands-on projects. For example, when asked to build up the knowledge model of 3D animation programming, the children were able to list things like 3 dimensional coordinates, events and responses, and so on. Unlike conventional classes, we had never given any lectures on programming before that point. What all the students did up to that point are just doing projects, from small ones to bigger ones. However, they are able to sense these significant experiences and are able to recognize them as important elements of the 3D animation programming, which is totally new to them when they started. 

So conventional schools’ teaching are mainly based on courses. They seldom give students time to do a lot of hands-on projects to gain experiences by themselves, not to mention letting the students summarize their knowledge by themselves based on the experiences they gained. In classes, the students are just following the teachers step by step. You know that if you always follow someone else to go to some place, you never know how to get there by yourself. 

Learning is a process of exploration, and building up knowledge based on experiences gained through such exploration. This is an innate ability everyone is born with, and it is an essential characteristic of what life is. So no wonder the more classes children take, the more they lose the capacity to learn. And the teachers who really possess such significant experiences and have constructed knowledge from these experiences, are the teachers who can guide students in their exploration for learning. 

I will not dive deeper here. Let’s go back to the Flow. So students should build up a flow from drops of Significant Experiences to understanding of the whole. Let’s extend this flow a bit. At the beginning, let’s add some learning plan or awareness of what you intend to learn. At the end we add the application of your knowledge to the activities you are doing and try to gain feedbacks from it. So this we formed a closed loop, and we repeat it over and over again like a spiral going upwards. With this spiral, we encounter new activities, we are able to recognize knowledge in new activities. Past, present and future knowledge are connected, we expand our interests and knowledge, one leading to another, endless curiosity and endless knowledge. 

So the learning areas in the learning plans don’t need to be conventional subjects such as math or English. It can be anything that interests you, any area that you want to have a better understanding of the whole, or build up knowledge models. 

If we can build up knowledge models of a domain, then we can build up our understanding of it quickly. This model might be rough at the beginning. However, it is sufficient to guide your current actions. And you can refine your models based on the significant experiences you gained through your activities. So we can deepen our flow according to knowledge models. Many elements of education such as peer learning, how teachers mentor, teacher recruitment, teacher training can be done a lot better if done according to knowledge models. This understanding of knowledge, is what can be digitized and thus this is the base of Internet Education. (Moving classes online is in no way Internet Education.). There are a lot more to be talked about on this. But we will stop here today. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


+ 7 = fourteen