理解瑟谷模式

English Version

关键词:

瑟谷学校,瑟谷模式,玩地,自主学习,自主教育,探索式学习

简介

本文旨在探讨在全球已有50年历史的瑟谷学校群所代表的瑟谷模式所包含的内涵,努力形成对瑟谷模式的更深的理解,以及这种理解对教育创变者的普遍意义。


瑟谷模式是很丰富的,不是一篇文章能够讲述的。我这里只是选取几个我认为最核心的点讲一讲。多年前一见倾心的瑟谷模式,在多年的教育实践后再做一次深入的总结,感觉瑟谷模式正是包含了无所不在的教育里应有的几个关键核心,对教育创变者有很强的借鉴意义。

玩地

说到瑟谷模式,从第一次听John Taylor Gatto 介绍瑟谷学校时开始,我一直认为瑟谷就是一个安全的玩地,大群的孩子们可以在里面玩。我认为这是瑟谷模式最核心的东西。大群的孩子丰富的玩,学习的需求自然就会产生。有了学习需求后的学习都是自然的多种方式的,上课只是其中的一种。这在瑟谷的实践中也是这样体现的。学习的方式多种多样,即使有些少量的短期的课,也都是自然的产生自然的消亡,从来没有过课程表的概念。

瑟谷的这种模式其实和我小时候的经历是相符的。第一次听说瑟谷学校的时候,正是我在研究生院做互联网教育研究,对学术界工业界的种种互联网教育研究极其失望的时候。瑟谷模式正是那之前的五年前决定投身互联网教育时想要实现的教育。但是所有的互联网教育研究都与之相去甚远甚至背道而驰。

学习/教育必须要有玩地。学习是无所不在的。玩/学习/创造是三位一体的广泛存在的,是一种生命活动。我们谈论教育的时候,必须首先要有玩地。教育是无所不在的,并不只存在于那些正式的教育场所。可以说,生活中无处不是教育的机会。甚至可以认为心理的咨询等等,也是属于教育的范围,而很多心理问题的出现,根子就在其接受的教育上。当我们在这样广泛的意义上理解教育时,通过各种场合的教育实践,我们会发现,教育必须有玩地

建立自主探索式学习的环境

学习需求产生了,如何去学习?瑟谷依靠的是人天然的探索式的自主学习能力。

一个自主探索的学习环境,需要的是丰富的资源。让学生可以在丰富的环境里去充分的感知,感知自己的兴趣与知识的增长,去做选择,从而完成自主探索式的学习

所以在瑟谷,书籍无处不在。瑟谷特意在每个房间都立了整面墙的书架,甚至几面墙都有,摆满了书。这些丰富的资源,就是孩子们探索的空间,满足他们的各种学习需求。从学习的角度,我们可以把丰富的资源也看作是玩地。丰富的资源,提供了选择性,学生可以感知自己的需求,选择合适的资源进行学习。这种学习能力,才是人们在社会中真正需要的学习能力,因为不会所有的知识都被人弄成课程,你就是需要感知自我感知资源,知道碰到简单的跳过,碰到难的退一步。实际上,在真实社会里的学习,需要非常复杂的感知能力和探索能力。

瑟谷丰富的玩地,各种各样的活动,也可以看作是丰富的资源。学生们需要感知自己的兴趣去做选择。

同样的,瑟谷的混龄,也可以认为是保护学生的感知能力,因为不同年龄带来更丰富的多元。比如,“瑟谷传奇”里讲述的,一起玩篮球的大些的学生会感知低龄的学生的能力,不会伤到他们。对低年龄的孩子,也能感受到更具挑战的状态。

瑟谷的职员(在瑟谷,没有老师的称呼,成人只是职员),也是学生们可以利用的资源。

知识

瑟谷通过各个房间都有的整面墙的书籍,我想也是在学生意识里建立起“知识”的概念和意识。知识并不是现代教育里那些分门别类的学科或者教科书才是知识,而是这许多的各种不同的书都是知识,并且我们每个人都在创造自己的知识

有了这样很强的“知识”意识,学生们会去从自己的各种体验里创造自己的知识。而瑟谷不缺丰富的体验

瑟谷还专门有一个会话室,供人们交流各种话题。这样的交流,都是促进知识的总结与表达的过程。并不是只有上课的时候,老师板书的内容才是知识。我们平时的交流,就是在分享我们自己的知识。

瑟谷创始人Dan说过,知识就是人脑里的抽象模型,每个人都在创建自己的知识

看瑟谷创始人的书,他们对现代教育制度包括其中的分门别类的学科设置有很深的质疑。我想瑟谷如此有意的让所有的房间都充满了书,就是要打破现代教育制度关于知识和上课学习的错误概念。

所以,瑟谷无处不在的书,在孩子们意识里构建了“知识”的概念,就是对现代教育的学科设置与课本的解构

交流

瑟谷创始人Mimsy特别的多次提到瑟谷无所不在的平等的对话交流。这种交流以各种形式各种时长存在于瑟谷的学生与学生之间,学生与职员之间,职员与职员之间。

前面讲,学习是无所不在的,教育的实施离不开玩地。在有丰富玩地的基础上,有着共同兴趣话题和相似重要体验的个体之间,进行基于重要体验和知识模型的交流,本来应该是很自然的过程,像孩子们之间的交流一样,像老玩家与新玩家之间的交流一样,是平等的友好的,这就已经是最好的教育场所。但是现代教育制度把教育如此正式化了,如此和生活割裂了,知识和老师成了权威,反而失去了真正的教育。被现代教育的这种错误的“知识”概念锁住的大众,不管是“学霸”还是“学渣”,都变得极不擅长平等友好的交流。

自然的交流是平等的,而平等是友情的基础。交流中重要体验和知识模型之间的跳跃与变化是自由的多样的。但是深受现代教育的知识观念束缚的现代人,已经极不擅长这样的交流。

如果擅长这样的交流,家庭就可以是最好的教育场所。打牌下棋游泳打篮球踢足球等等就是很好的玩地。擅长平等交流的家长就可以成为最好的教育家。

所以,瑟谷无处不在的平等交流,就是对现代教育的上课教学的解构。

瑟谷法庭

瑟谷的法庭每天都有,印象里每次大概2个小时时间。可以说占据了孩子们相当多的时间,是瑟谷里很核心的存在。

个体与群体的关系,个人如何参与社会,都是每个人的人生必须面对的重要话题。只是在现代教育制度里,很难有这方面的学习思考和实践,大多数人毕业多年甚至步入老年后,在这方面还是稀里糊涂的。

比如,最起码的,如何面对本文化里的传统伦理道德观念?我在大学里看到大多数的大学生还是如中学生小学生一样不加思考的恪守从小被教导的传统价值观。而少数在大学阶段就接触了社会的学生又立即完全放弃了任何道德观念,变得没有什么底线。

个人又如何参与社会?以什么样的方式参与?现代教育制度下,这些都不是需要学习的内容,然而却是贯穿人的一生需要面对思考的问题。

瑟谷就是这样,通过法庭的方式让学生得到充分的锻炼。法律委员会必须有成人的参与。而法官,印象里是有三个法官,主法官必须是个高年级(当然,瑟谷里没有年级的概念)的学生。因为高年级的学生抽象思维能力一般会比较强,并且已经经历了很多届的法庭的锻炼。很多很小的孩子容易东一句西一句的,没有头绪。这时高年级学生会告诉这些比较小的孩子,把时间地点事情描述清楚,只描述客观发生的事情,并不断澄清事情的真相,包括做相应的调查取证等等。整个过程就是非常丰富的许多领域的学习。

瑟谷的孩子每天在瑟谷法庭里锻炼的这些能力,正是我们社会里普遍缺失的能力。从学校毕业的许多人,包括很多学霸,都无法进行清晰有序全面的思考,对个体与群体,权利与义务等很多概念都一塌糊涂。看大家讨论推特封禁特朗普账号,就看得出来。

对生命的相信

我想,以上所述,基于的都是对生命的相信。这是和现代教育完全不同的。生命,只要给它丰富的土壤,就会健康的生长。教育的目的也和现代教育完全不同,是让生命成长为他们自己,而不是大批量的培养产业工人。

瑟谷模式对教育的意义

知识是无所不在的,学习是无所不在的,教育是无所不在的。瑟谷的教育,是对生命和自然的回归。

这里总结的瑟谷模式,不是只面向孩子或特定人群的教育模式,而是面向所有人群乃至可以在生活中的教育里普遍采用的教育模式,大家可以在自己具体的场景里根据这些原则做相应的设计。

This entry was posted in 重要论文, 科学研究, selflearning. Bookmark the permalink.

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注


7 + = 十

Understanding Sudbury Model

中文版

Abstract

This essay tries to explore and form a deep understanding of the Sudbury Model, and what it means for the education innovations around the world.


The Sudbury Model is very rich, beyond what can be put into one article. Here I only choose some elements that I personally consider to be the very core of the model. For me, the Sudbury Model is love at first sight. After 20 years of practice in the education field, I feel it is about time for me to reflect on the Sudbury Model again. From my reflection, I feel that the very few essential elements of education that I have summarized after all these years of education practices, are right in the heart of the Sudbury Model. Please note here the I use the word Education in the most general sense as education is indeed everywhere in our lives and work,

Playground

I heard of the Sudbury Valley School from John Taylor Gatto for the very first time in 2004 or 2005. I loved it right there when he talked about it. The SVS (Sudbury Valley School) is a safe playground to me from the very beginning. Large groups of children can play there, which I always feel is the deepest core of the Sudbury Model. When a large group of children can play richly together, learning needs arise in a natural way. After you have the learning needs, the ways of learning is numerous, taking lessons being only one of them. This is what is actually happening at SVS. There are so many ways of learning. Even though there are a few very short term lessons, they appear naturally and disappear naturally. There is never such a thing called curriculum.

This model is quite similar to my childhood experiences. When I first heard of SVS, I was doing my graduate school research on elearning. I was very frustrated with what has been going on in the research and development in the academics and industry. Sudury Model is kind of what I had wanted to realize when I decided to devote my career to education 5 years before then. I thus changed my major and successfully applied an elearning graduate school research project. However, all the researches on elearning I had read then were so far away from what was on my mind, and very often the very opposite of it.

Learning/education has to have a Playground. Learning is everywhere. Play/Learn/Create, the three in one activity is the pervasive life activity in our daily life and work. When we talk about education, it must first have a Playground. Education is everywhere, not just at those formal educational places or scenarios. It is safe to say that life is full of education opportunities. We can even consider psychological consoling also part of education, since the root of many psychological problems are rightly due to the kind of education the person has been through. When we understand education in this general sense and we practice broadly in various educational settings, I believe we will all discover one thing: education must have a Playground.

Build a Self-Directed Explorative Learning Environment

Once you have the learning needs, how do you set about learning it? It is people’s natural innate exploring capability that SVS counts on.

To build a self-directed explorative environment, you need rich resources, so students can feel richly and strongly in this rich environment, and thus they can make choices, to accomplish self-directed explorative learning.

Thus in SVS, books are everywhere. SVS intentionally has all walls occupied by bookshelves that take up the whole walls. And the bookshelves are full of all kinds of books. These rich resources, are the explorative space for children, meeting their various learning needs. From learning perspectives, these resources are also Playground. Rich resources provide the possibility of choices, so students can feel of their own needs, and choose the appropriate resources for their learning. This kind of learning capacity, is what they need in the real world, because not all knowledge will be made into lessons in the real world. You just have to use your senses, to sense yourself, to sense the resources, and know when to skip ahead if it is too simple, or when to draw back if it is too difficult for now. In deed, learning in the real world requires very complex skills of sensing and exploring.

So the books and the various activities at SVS, can be all seen as Playground. Students need to sense their own interests to make choices.

We can also consider the age-mixing at SVS as a way of protecting children’s capability to feel, because the different ages create diversity. For example, in the book “Free at Last”, as the kids playing basketball together, the older kids know to sense the capacity of the younger kids, so that they won’t make moves that might hurt the younger ones. For those younger kids, by playing with older kids, they can feel the bigger challenge that they don’t feel when playing with kids of similar ages.

The staff at SVS (adults are called staff at SVS, not Teachers), are also resources that children can use. Furthermore, the staff at SVS do a lot of work to make a self-directed explorative environment for the students there. The book “Free at Last” outlined many such things.

Knowledge

SVS intentionally builds up bookshelves for all walls. I think it is to set up the awareness of “Knowledge” in the environment. Knowledge is not those categorized subjects or majors in schools. And not just the textbooks are knowledge. All these different books are knowledge, and we are all creating our very own knowledge.

When students have this strong consciousness of “knowledge” on their mind, they will try to create their own knowledge from their rich experiences. And in SVS you never lack rich experiences since SVS is such a self-directed explorative environment, like we said earlier.

SVS has a designated conversation room, where people can converse on any topics. This kind of conversing, is also a process to promote the building of knowledge and its expression. So knowledge is not just what the teachers teach in the classroom. When we converse, we are sharing our own knowledge, and we have to express it in our own words.

Dan, one of the founders of SVS said that knowledge is the model in people’s minds, everyone is creating one’s own knowledge.

When I read of the books by SVS founders, they questioned deeply the categorized subjects and majors in the modern education system. I think SVS’ filling up all rooms with books, is intentionally to break the wrong concept of knowledge that modern education has brought up on people. The more years I have practiced on education, the more I realized that the deep damages the concept of categorized knowledge had done to people.

So, the books everywhere in SVS, is to establish the concept of “Knowledge” in children’s consciousness, so they can disassociate the concept of knowledge from categorized subjects and textbooks of modern education. This is dismantling the concept of knowledge of modern education theory.

Conversation

Mimsy, another founder of SVS, has talked many times about the universal conversations at SVS. This kind of equal conversations exist between students and students, students and staff, as well as staff and staff.

We said earlier that learning is everywhere and education practice has to have Playground. So in an educational environment that has rich playgrounds, the conversation among players sharing similar interests and Significant Experiences, are natural and common. It is like conversations among children, or like those between old players and new players, it is friendly and equal. When this kind of conversations happen, it is already the best education environment you can have. However, modern education has formalized education so much, and made it so separated from real life, knowledge and teachers become the authority, and equal conversations are not possible anymore, thus true education is lost. People influenced by modern education, deeply locked up by the wrong concept of “knowledge”, have lost the ability to make such kind of conversations.

Naturally conversation is equal, and equality is the foundation of friendship. And such equal conversations are usually sharing of Significant Experiences and abstract knowledge models. The flow between significant experiences and knowledge models in conversation is free and agile. But modern people, who are bound by the wrong concept of knowledge of modern education, lost the skill to engage in such conversations.

If they are still capable of such conversation, then their families are the best education place, and playing pokers, chess, basketball, soccer can all be very good playgrounds. Parents who excel at equal conversation can be the best educators.

So the universal equal conversations at SVS, is dismantling the way of teaching of modern education theory, which is based on classroom/lesson/homework/tests.

Judiciary Committee

SVS Judiciary Committee has a session every day, and all students take turn to be on the committee. It is a very essential part of Sudbury Model.

The relation between individuals and groups and how individuals participate in society, are very important to everyone’s life. But in the modern education system, there is rarely any chance to think and practice in this aspect. Most people still don’t know how to handle these even after they have retired from their careers.

For example, how to take the traditional ethnic values in your own culture? What I see is that many college students still stick to those values like primary school students, while some students who have been exposed to society in college start to abandon all ethnic principles immediately, doing whatever to achieve their goals.

How individuals participate in society? This is not what ought to be learned in modern education system, but it is what one has to tangle with throughout one’s life.

Where in SVS, students have full practice on this through the Judiciary Committee. The Judiciary Committee has to have some adult members. And from my memory, some senior students should be on the committee because they have been through it many times, and they are more able to think abstractly than younger ones. Younger ones often are not able to articulate things very well, so these senior students will guide them to learn to articulate it, like when and where what happened, just stating the facts instead of subjective opinions. And they also do investigation and collect evidences. So the whole process of Judiciary Committee session is a very good practice of many things.

What SVS students are practicing in these Judiciary Committee sessions, are what we lack very much in our society. Many graduates from universities, including those with very high GPAs, are unable to think clearly and comprehensively. They are very confused about rights and obligations.

Trust in LIFE

I think the above are all based on trust in LIFE. This is completely different from modern education. Life, if you give it rich soil, it will grow healthily. The goal of education, unlike that of modern education, which is to produce skilled industry workers, should be about letting life growing up to become themselves.

The Implication of Sudbury Model for Education

Knowledge is universal. Learning is universal. Education is universal. Sudbury education, is about going back to life and nature.

The Sudbury Model we summarize here, is not an education model only targeting children or a specific group of people, but an education model for all people to be used in their everyday lives. We hope educators can find these principles helpful when making educational designs in their specific learning environments.

This entry was posted in Scientific Study, selflearning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


3 − = two